We're committed to delivering FREE CORONAVIRUS COVERAGE during this crisis.
Today, in this financially challenging time, we are asking for a little extra support from all of you to help us keep our newsroom on the job.

CHS Athletes Earn Winter Honors

CHS Athletes Earn Winter Honors

Cheshire Kiwanis Club Sportsmanship Award

Indoor Track and Field:

Max Shafer

Wrestling: Andrew Vernon

Cheshire Junior Women’s Club Leadership Award

Basketball: Sophie Vagts

Indoor Track and Field:

Juliana Petronio


Scholar Athlete

Boys’ Basketball:

Jason Shumilla

Girls’ Basketball: Ari Perlini

Cheerleading: Mia Denhart

Boys’ Ice Hockey:

Max Novicelli

Girls’ Ice Hockey:

Nadia DiNatale

Boys’ Skiing: Zack Bates

Girls’ Skiing: Olivia Kochol

Boys’ Swim and Dive:

Sam Hanke

Boys’ Indoor Track and Field:

Kyle Kemp

Girls’ Indoor Track

and Field: Ruth DelVecchio

Wrestling: Chris Scoffone

All-R-J Team

Girls’ Basketball:

Emma Watkinson

Boys’ Swim and Dive:

Sam Hanke, Noah Duncan,

Justin Finkel, Harrison Hua,

Ed Chen

Boys’ Ice Hockey:

Nick Maringola,

Niklas Vasiljevs

Boys’ Indoor Track and Field:

Brendan Mellitt, Ryan Farrell

Girls’ Basketball

Practice Player of the Year:

Emily Grayson

Coaches: Award: Rylee Post,

Toni Wetmore

SCC Female Scholar-Athlete

winner: Ari Perlini


All-Class LL/All-SCC:

Hannah Roberts

Woodland tumbling


Reagan Gromko

Boys’ Ice Hockey

CIAC and SCC Division II

Player of the Year/CIAC and

SCC D-II First Team/

Hobey Baker Award:

Nick Maringola

All-SCC D-II Second Team:

Niklas Vasiljevs

SCC Male Scholar-Athlete

winner: Scott Heseltine

Boys’ Swim and Dive

SCC champion and


Sam Hanke

SCC runner-up/All-SCC:

Noah Duncan, Justin Finkel,

Harrison Hua,

Hayden Curello

Boys’ Indoor Track

and Field

State Open champion/

All-State/SCC and East

Sectional runner-up/

MVP (Track): Ryan Farrell

SCC and East Sectional

champion/All-State/Class L

runner-up/MVP (Track):

Brendan Mellitt

Student Assistant Coach

Award: Max Shafer

East Sectional Champion/

Most Improved: Owen Fiore

East Sectional Champion:

Robert DiNatale

Rookie of the Year:

Colin Grevelding

Coaches Award: Kyle Kemp,

Francis Simpatico,

Stephan Anton

Girls’ Indoor Track

and Field

Red and White Award:

Kayla Byrne,

Riley Hanover

Rising Star Award:

Alex Palladino


MVP: Eli Moskowitz

Newcomer of the Year:

Rome Smith

Most Improved:

Chris Scoffone

Coaches Award:

Titus Barsczewski

Iron Man Award:

Zach Coleman


The Herald Buzz

Follow the Cheshire Herald on Facebook & Twitter